Am I just nuts?

So yeah, the holidays are coming up. They do keep doing this, every year, don’t they? This (aside from my birthday) is when it sucks the most to not have a family. I don’t have anywhere “default” to be on the holidays. And somehow, I don’t seem to be able to get an invitation to be anywhere unless I start whining about it.

Now, don’t get me wrong – it’s nice to have invitations, in any form. But it gets a little harsh that I can *only* get them if I’m actively going on about having no place to go. As far as I’m concerned, it’s not much different from me flat out saying “hey, can I come over for Thanksgiving?”. And that’s just rude. Sometimes, after the fact, I get “oh, we would have invited you, but we assumed you already had someplace to be.”. Um, hello, does anybody EVER listen to what I say? Or pay any attention to the simple fact that I HAVE NO FAMILY? When you have no family, you DON’T have someplace to be on the holidays. Why in the hell would they assume that I do? *sigh*

Leave a Reply

